CARLEIGH BAKER

Award-winning author of Bad Endings

reviews and other writing

links to book reviews, essays, short stories, and poems

The Proust Questionnaire

In January 2018 I was asked to answer 20 questions in the classic Proustian style. Thank you to Marsha Lederman for taking the time to provide me this space to have some fun.

You can read the piece by clicking here.

 

Book Reviews for the Globe and Mail

I’ve been writing book reviews for nearly ten years, and it all started with an unassuming email from Mark Medley—then Globe Books editor—in 2014.

My first assignment, John Ralston Saul’s The Comeback. I spent so many hours pouring over that review, agonizing over the concept of my opinions appearing in a national newspaper, that my hourly wage must have averaged out to fifty cents.

But it was such satisfying work, and so exciting to read the review in a real newspaper, over a Sunday cappuccino at my local coffee place.

I’m so grateful to Mark for taking a chance on me!

Here’s some examples of the work that I did for Globe Books:

A Mind Spread Out on the Ground, Alicia Elliott. March 31, 2019.

My Conversations with Canadians, Lee Maracle + The Reconciliation Manifesto, Arthur Manuel, November 3, 2017.

The Banker and the Blackfoot. Edward Chamberlin September 9, 2016.

Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains, Yasuko Thanh, April 29, 2016

Black Apple, Joan Crate, March 11, 2016

Stolen Sisters, Emmanuelle Walter, November 13, 2015

The Reason You Walk, Wab Kinew, October 9, 2015

Chinkstar, Jon Chan Simpson, August 25, 2015

Birdie, Tracey Lindberg, June 13, 2015

#idlenomore and the Remaking of Canada, Ken Coates, April 18, 2015

The Jaguar’s Children, John Vaillant, January 10, 2015

The Comeback, John Ralston Saul, December 6, 2014

Fiction, Non-Fiction, Essays, and Reviews

Asparagus Magazine Jan 2021

  • This Land Doesn’t Need a White Saviour

Poetry is Dead  Nov 2018

  • Grow Your Hair Long: A Conversation with Waub Rice. 

Quill & Quire Nov 2018

    The Literary Review of Canada September 2018

    Quill & Quire August 2018

    The Short Story Advent Calendar. Hingston & Olsen. Winter 2017

    Fiction: Last Woman

    The New Quarterly Spring 2017

    • Essay: In a Canoe, Chasing my Metis Grandmother Like a Dummy

    Room Magazine Spring 2017

    • Fiction: Midwives

      subTerrain Issue 76,  May 2017

      • Interview: #Resistance150: A Conversation Between Carleigh Baker and Jordan Abel

      The Literary Review of Canada November 2016

      • Fiction review: Katherena Vermette’s The Break

        The Malahat Review December 2016

        Matrix Magazine October 2016

        • Fiction: Read These Postcards In A Gonzo Journalist Voice

            subTerrain Issue 74,  Sept 2016

            • Fiction: Shoe Shopping With The Cash Poor

            The Rusty Toque July 2016

            Quill & Quire May 2016

              The Goose Spring 2016

              EVENT Magazine Winter 2015

              Poetry Reviews: Jónína Kirton’s page as bone ink as blood, Marilyn Dumont’s The Pemmican Eaters, Chelene Knight’s Braided Skin

                  The Malahat Review Winter 2015

                  Joyland Magazine Oct 2015

                  PRISM International Fall/Winter 2015

                  Creative Non-Fiction: Dinner With The Vittrekwas. Read online now at goingdownswinging.org

                  Matrix Magazine July 2015

                  subTerrain Issue 70, May 2015

                  • Fiction: Chins and Elbows

                  EVENT Magazine May 2014

                  Interview: In Conversation on Conversation: EVENT Interviews Joanne Arnott

                    Joyland Magazine Aug 2013

                    subTerrain Issue 63, Jan 2013

                    • Fiction: Last Call (Winner, 2012 Lush Triumphant awards.)

                    Ricepaper Jan 2013

                    Poetry: Grandma Carrière, Saint Mary